• Welcome to the E-Goat :: The Totally Unofficial RAF Rumour Network.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Thinking of Joining RAF Regiment

Hey All

I’m a newbie considering joining the RAF Regiment. I live in London and have a home here and I’m getting on a bit (I’m 37). I’m currently a reservist with 4 Para (army reserve). I have heard good things about the RAF Regiment, and I am interested in the airborne side of the regiment in 2sqn and it’s links with the SFSG. I would want to sign up as an officer and will attend one of the open days when they are back up and running but really I was just looking for some initial advice/information.

1. IfI signed up as an officer and passed all of the physical and cognitive tests, would I get any say in what squadron I wanted to be part of? Do you get posted to a sqdn after IOT or is it after JROC?

2. How long before completing IOT or JROC would it be before you could attempt the Pre Para Selection course and is there any age restrictions on doing Pre Para? Would I need to do pre Para if I have done PCOY with 4 Para Reserves?

3. Do you have to be in a sqdn for 2 years before attempting SFSG? If so l, when does that 2 yeAr period run from?

4. Would an old fart like me be allowed to go for SFSG if I was physically up to the challenge?