• Welcome to the E-Goat :: The Totally Unofficial RAF Rumour Network.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

ROV Pilot / Tech's

kawoloki

Sergeant
I am thinking about going for the big redundancy carrot that is being dangled in front of me at the mo and the potential career path that I am looking at is ROV pilot / tech.

Do any goaters who are employed in the offshore world have any advice about what the job prospects are like? I'm a JNCO A tech AV (core Avionics) with 13 years under my belt.

would it be worth forking out the 7 - 8 K for training or are there companies recruiting that would put me through the course at their expense?

Any information about the ROV world (or any other offshore careers and training) would be most appreciated.

R

rumblefish

I am looking at doing an ROV/tech course though the one i was looking at is £2200. I need to have a rethink and redirection on my future.
I have already left the service and will be looking at using an ELC to fund the course though i will still need to find the 20% contribution and accomodation fees.
My main concerns are probably the same, wondering what the job market is like and if anyone is recruiting etc.
Have you found out anything new?

metimmee

Flight Sergeant
Subscriber
1000+ Posts
I was expecting the ROV bubble to burst. Are there still plenty of opportunities in this field?

kawoloki

Sergeant