• Welcome to the E-Goat :: The Totally Unofficial RAF Rumour Network.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Flight Operations Officer and visiting RAF Bases

I had a meeting last week at the RAF AFCO in Liverpool, as I'm interested in Flight Operations within the RAF. As I have a degree, the lady at the AFCO encouraged me to go for an Officer role rather than Flight Operations Assistant. I'm interested in visiting RAF bases ahead of putting in my application, so that I can educate myself a little further and show that I have a genuine interest in the RAF's current operations.

I expect there'll be a wealth of knowledge here and I'd like to know if anybody can offer me any advice in how I go about arranging these visits. Would you recommend that I make a few of these visits before I put my application in or should I get the ball rolling, put in my application and make these visits throughout the process? I expect I'll continue to try and visit bases throughout my application but I'm wondering whether or not I should get a couple of them under my belt ahead of my aptitude tests/selection interview.

Any other advice for a prospective Flight Operations Officer would obviously be very welcome too.

Cheers.

vim_fuego

Hung Like a Baboon.
Staff member
Administrator
Subscriber
1000+ Posts