• Welcome to the E-Goat :: The Totally Unofficial RAF Rumour Network.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Couple of questions relating to medical & family life

J

jamesofdeath

Hi guys. Bear with me here. I graduated last year and am looking to join the RAF as an officer. I'm not 100% on the specific trade I want to do but I've narrowed it down to 3. What I do trade-wise is largely based on my medical. I had a microdiscectomy (a small piece of my disc was cut away) in September last year. Now since then I have been discharged from the hopsital and told I am 100% fit. I do hillwalking, running, cycling and play football and none of this seems to be affected at all so generally speaking I'd say I'm pretty fit. I went to my local AFCO a couple of months ago and the guy I spoke to said I might need to wait until 12 months after my operation before I would be allowed to join up, I thought that was understandable and he told me to go back and see him once I had been properly discharged. So, I got discharged and went back to see him just last week and he made a quick snap decision and told me I can't apply for 2 years because of my operation. Regardless of the surgeon saying I'm fine and all the exercise I currently do, and also without me having any form of medical examination. Does this sound right to you guys? Should I not at least have been given a medical?