• Welcome to the E-Goat :: The Totally Unofficial RAF Rumour Network.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Life as an ATM

FlyerBike

LAC
Hi all,

I had started a thread probably about a year ago now, but can't seem to find it now. I want to join up and have been considering what role to apply for. As I'm a motorcycle technician at the moment and I love fixing things, ATM looks like it would be a great career for me.

I keep hearing about aptitude tests and the like. I have a B and C for English Lang/Lit, and a double award C for science. I re-sat my Maths GCSE this year myself and achieved a C as I only got a D when I was at school. How does it work, do they give you tests and let you know if you are suitable for your role? I've seen on the RAF site that it's stuff like maths, verbal reasoning etc, similar to the Police's PIRT test which I took to become a Special.

I've spoken to some RN guys on a forum and once they stopped taking the **** out of me wanting to be in the RAF, they said that RAF ATMs sometimes get drafted onto aircraft carriers so we would serve alongside the Navy. Does this happen much anymore? Would be one hell of an experience..